Sami’s Adventures with Shrink Plastic #1

I have been wanting to have a play with Shrink Plastic for aaaages now. For those of you who don’t know what it is… It’s plasticky paper sheets that you draw on, cut up, punch (hole punch, not fist punch!), ink, colour in, whatever really. THEN you put it into the oven and watch as it crinkles up and shrinks down and thickens up, into a little piece of strong plastic. It’s a bit like magic.

Here are some (bad) photos of my first few late-night attempts. I was too excited to focus on taking proper photos, soz:

Image

ImageImageNOTE: I put the pen there to show the size change- it’s not a weird Shrink Plastic design.

I was hoping to make the little row of house into a necklace, but I didn’t realise til afterwards that Shrink Plastic is reeeally light, so it wouldn’t hang the right way round (I would need to put the holes near the top, and even then it would be a really light necklace). It’s quite comfy as a bracelet though.The button turned out a bit weird, but I’m going to experiment with that one. And the “Sami” one went a bit Pete Tong, because the holes were too near the edge.

Oh well, it was a really fun evening, and I’m sure I’ll carry on practising! I got my Shrink Plastic from The Range and it was pretty cheap (£1 per A4 sheet). You can also use it with stamps (or trace?) if you’re not keen on drawing your own designs.

I’ll post more pics when I have another go!

Love,

Sami x

Leave a Reply

