Time to Grow Up?

So, last post I hinted at a new excitement for me and The Boy, in the shape of him possibly moving to live in the same area as me.

And….

He Got The Job!!

Yaaay!

No more long-distance love 🙂

This led to excitement, worry, panic, a little bit of commitment phobia on both parts, and then back to excitement again!

The thing is, we’ve done long-distance for soooo long now, and we’re both a bit worried we’re gona hate each other when we see each other every day. I guess lots of people have the same worries, especially with so many people meeting at university now, and having to save up for a trillion years to afford rent, never mind a house! So we’re not the only ones. And, as my mum said “It’s hard, but you can make it work. And please do, because I like him”.

Hopefully we’ll be able to afford somewhere with space for Made by Sami to operate from, so I’ll have a hiding hole, and The Boy has been set the task of making me a Tetris table, so that should keep him out of mischief. So really, it’s just the smelly socks I need to worry about…

Another problem, though, with The Boy moving, is that I have to buy a car.

Ugh.

What do I know about cars?!

Where do I even start?!

The Internet, that’s where. I went on Autotrader and got some actually-quite-useful advice, and I looked at the RAC and AA websites for a few more nuggets.

Then I phoned my Dad. Which is what I should have done in the first place. Within half an hour, he had given me a plan, offered to test drive with me, given me lots of hints of cars to avoid and sites to look at, and calmed me down to normal-human-being level again. Phew! How do people manage without Dads?!

All this new stuff is terrifying and exciting all at once, like all the big moments in life are. So maybe it’s time for me to grow up?

Pah.

Who am I kidding?!

Never.

Love,

Sami x

Leave a Reply

